top of page

(more than) 2000 km of adventures

My study area has more than 2000km allowing me to share dozens of adventures either with my supervisors or my field buddies. We can cross the hammada (stone desert), have lunch in a desert beach, watch the sunrise/sunset in the middle of nowhere… We skipped police tickets thanks to gentle policemen, we declined their offer to stay at their place (girls should stay in the kitchen learning how to cook Moroccan food)... I learnt that Saharawi are not used to foreigners… Although I might pass undetected, my European clothes don’t… And after a while one just needs to get used to that… They look at us (let’s say) in a different way. But the best Harira one will ever find is in a tiny caffe in Boujdour, Western Sahara. So, don’t worry about your European style (but let’s be wise and respectful: girls, avoid using tiny shorts for sake of their religion), cross the desert and go try Harira at 7pm.

1.jpg

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Nenhum tag.
bottom of page